Free Stock Photos

image: pexels.com

As a web designer, it’s clear that I will need to find clever and easy ways to find photos if I can’t take my own. I thought about the websites that I should know to go to when I need to include photos of places I’ve never been, such as the Caribbean or maybe skiing. I searched a bunch of places I think could be helpful to keep on a post so I can come back to it later when I need it.

  1. pexels.com
    1. I use this site for my blog posts on here! Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. All photos are tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through discover pages.
  2. morguefile.com
    1. This website has more photos from people around the world, whereas pexels has high quality photos. If you can’t find it on pexels, it’ll probably be on morguefile. Morguefile is a free photo archive created to serve as a free image exchange for creative professionals and teachers to use in their work.
  3. stocksnap.io/
    1. This is the only one out of my list I have not tried yet. However, it does seem to be very similar to pexels.com due to the quality of the photos. It is also is released under Creative Commons and does not require attribution. No more hassle trying to figure out whether you can use photos for commercial use and whether you need to provide attribution!
Leave a Reply

