Think about what kinds of products you want to own:

image: pexels.com.

Thinking about the products I would want to own as a freelance web designer I would probably want to purchase the creative cloud for InDesign, Photoshop, Dreamweaver and Illustrator. Out of school, this costs $49.99 a month, or $69.99 a month depending on the services I want.

According to http://www.creativebloq.com/illustrator/alternative-to-illustrator-1131664, there are several different programs that are similar to Adobe illustrator that I can consider. Sketch is an editor that has a large set of web options such as the ability to copy CSS styles directly to the the clipboard. Like photoshop, there are multiple artboards, with tools such as drop shadows, fills, gradients. Affinity Designer is also an option, and can be tried out for free.

For alternatives to InDesign, Scribus uses grids, frames, and layers for PDFs. Personally, I use InDesign as an editor for the school newspaper, so having this would help me gain skills to format a page for print if need be.

A Photoshop alternative is GIMP, a free open source photo editor that is said to be easy to use. With drawing tools, layers, and other editing options, GIMP is a gift for freelance web designers.

Considering photography equipment, I already own a white sheet and black sheet that is meant for photographs. I also have the right lighting equipment for photos. I got this for Christmas, along with a Nikon 5000 camera. I’ve also recently gotten different lenses for depth and perception photos. In the future, I want to invest in a tripod to make my images steady.

Leave a Reply

